top of page
Search
  • Nick Lee

A Guide To Field Recording For Games



For my honours project, I chose to focus it upon a passion I have developed since starting my studies at Futureworks. Field recording has always been a method for recording interesting and unique sounds. As most sound designers create sound libraries to add to their own collection of sounds or to sell to others, some documentation and guides have appeared for people to follow.


However, from researching the topic and asking field recordists, I have discovered there is not a great deal of documentation for field recording specifically for games. Is there a great enough difference between the workflows when working for games compared to other media? Well, the guide I have written suggests this is the case.


From doing my own practical research and creating sound libraries available on this website, I have tested some workflows and attempted to understand what considerations must be made when aiming for them to have use within games. The findings from this research, combined with interviews of some notable field recording professionals are what inform and support the discussion within this guide.


Some of the topics covered in this guide include:

  • The types of field recordings

  • Approaches for games

  • General techniques applied to games

  • Equipment

  • Locations

  • Planning a session

  • Creating a sound library for games

Download it here and have a read through. Leave a comment and let me know what you think of the guide!

A Guide To Field Recording For Games - N
.
Download • 2.20MB

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page